A new blog

Hi all,

Welcome to my new blog! This blog will be dedicated to technical software development stuff, especially about Eclipse plug-in development. Then if you are looking around for pictures of Justin Bieber, just pass your way, what you’ll read here will probably be too serious for you.

Justin Bieber

Here is a more precise description of this blog.

About me

First, if you are really curious, I’m going to introduce myself: my name is Mickael Istria, 25, live in Grenoble, France. I am currently working as an Eclipse RCP developer at BonitaSoft. I have been doing Eclipse development since I left school. I started by becoming a contributor and then a committer on the Java Workflow Tooling project while I was a trainee of Marc Dutoo in a French services company called Open Wide. I mainly worked on Release Engineering (build and all other tooling stuff) in order to get it part of the Galileo release train. And it worked! After that I had the opportunity to join BonitaSoft, the publisher of the Open-Source BPM (Business Process Management) suite Bonita Open Solution. I work as part of the 8-people R&D team, and I am in charge with 2 to 3 other guys of developing the Eclipse RCP GMF-based Studio of the solution, which is an advanced BPMN editor. For this I could leverage a lot of Eclipse technologies, so that I could become a small contributor on several projects. But the heart of this application is the Modeling, then by contributing regularly to Eclipse Graphical Modeling Framework, I became a committer on GMF-Tooling, the part of GMF that is responsible for generating a full diagram with a very little time of configuration. Our team won the Eclipse award of the Best Modeling Application during last EclipseCon. That is a remarkable award, and I am very proud with the rest of the team to be able to get such a distinction.

Currently, my focus on Eclipse projects is to make it easier to contribute to GMF (Tooling). Then I currently spend some time to move this project to Tycho, since I find it too difficult to contribute without an easy way to build and test locally with the current build system.

About this blog

Now, let’s speak about what is the purpose of this blog: It is more or less the continuity of the blog articles I’m used to write on BonitaSoft community blog. It will contain some tricks about Eclipse, and will also contain some evangelisation on the projects I like. I will also try to use it in order to get more feedback from the community of users of projects I’m implied in. It will also probably be a good place for some technical or strategical debates and to discuss about things non-technical things related to software development (methodology, agility, business…). I start this blog in order to be able to write things independently on the company I work for. As I already wrote, this blog won’t only be a set of encyclopedic articles, I’d like to make it a tool to interact with people, as it is the case for a lot of other Eclipse blogs I’m used to read.

To sum it up, this blog is a way to get closer from other people in the Eclipse community. I hope you’ll like it, and if you don’t just tell me, it is an open place for communication.

  1. #1 by howlger on June 15, 2011 - 5:34 pm

    Welcome to the Planet Eclipse Justin and Mickael!

  2. #2 by LuisCM on June 16, 2011 - 12:47 am

    Welcome to the Planet Eclipse Justin and Mickael!

  3. #3 by Pascal Rapicault on June 16, 2011 - 1:35 am

    Glad to see you around here!

  4. #4 by Miles Parker on June 16, 2011 - 6:16 am

    I have just one question: Who the hell is Justin Bieber?

    • #5 by Mickael Istria on June 16, 2011 - 11:30 am

      @Miles: I think Google will give you more info about Justin Bieber than you could ever find about Eclipse! He (currently) is THE popstar for children.

  5. #6 by lucas on June 16, 2011 - 10:29 am

    I actually found a picture of justin bieber in your post and congratulate you having been able to be seriously cool on this, which I consider as a great achievement in life I must say !

  6. #7 by LaMicque on June 16, 2011 - 3:22 pm

    I have just one question: who is the guy in the glasses? (Just kidding.) Looking forward to seeing your blog grow as you continue on with Eclipse. Keep tweetin’ dude!

  1. A new blog | Eclipse | Syngu

Leave a Reply

